Sunday, April 01, 2007

Part 8 of 8, Award Winners

1. Alex Rodriguez
2. Vladimir Guerrero
3. Manny Ramirez

Fine, I didn't excatly go out on a limb here.

AL Cy Young Award
1. Johan Santana
2. Chien-Ming Wang
3. Daniel Cabrera

Santana is the Cy Young winner until someone else can prove otherwise. I think Wang can get himself back quickly enough to repeat his coming no where near Santana yet still coming in 2nd place for the Cy Young. And sure maybe I'm jumping the gun on Cabrera, but I need an out on the limb pick somewhere.

AL Rookie of the Year Award
1. Delmon Young
2. Daisuke Matsuzaka
3. Alex Gordon

Matsuzaka is would probably have to be one of the top 5 starters in the AL this season to even have a chance at the award, since enough people will consider anybody with good production who's not a Japanese veteran a better selection. In the AL East it will be hard for Matsuzaka to put up good enough numbers to win the award.

AL Manager of the Year
1. Joe Torre
2. Ron Gardenhire
3. Sam Perlozzo

AL Batting Crown
1. Ichiro Suzuki
2. Robinson Cano
3. Hideki Matsui

Why Matsui? I have no good reason at all, other than I felt like it. There are so many strong candidates in the AL, I think I would actually rank Joe Mauer pretty low down on the list of who I think is most likely to win the title.

AL Home Run Crown
1. David Ortiz
2. Alex Rodriguez
3. Manny Ramirez

AL ERA Leaders
1. Johan Santana
2. Chien-Ming Wang
3. Daniel Cabrera

AL Win Leaders
1. Johan Santana
2. Andy Pettitte
3. Chien-Ming Wang (Remember, Wang won only 1 game last April)

1. Alfonso Soriano
2. Jose Reyes (undeservingly ranked this high)
3. Albert Pujols

I'm assuming that this would make the first time in history that two players who were traded for each other (straight up at that) won MVP's in the same season. I'm wondering if two players traded for each other ever won MVPs at all (after the trade).

NL Cy Young Award
1. Barry Zito
2. Carlos Zambrano
3. Greg Maddux

Okay, so Maddux is a long shot to be this high, but he's Greg Maddux.

NL Rookie of the Year
1. Mike Pelfrey
2. Troy Tulowitzki
3. Homer Bailey

I'm still not so sure about a pitcher being named Homer.

NL Manager of the Year Award
1. Lou Piniella
2. Bud Black
3. Willie Randolph

NL Batting Crown
1. Miguel Cabrera
2. Albert Pujols
3. Jose Reyes

NL Home Run Crown
1. Alfonso Soriano
2. Ryan Howard
3. Albert Pujols

Hopefully the wind will be blowing out this year at Wrigley

NL Wins Leaders
1. Barry Zito
2. Carlos Zambrano
3. Greg Maddux

NL ERA Leaders
1. Barry Zito
2. Carlos Zambrano
3. Jake Peavy

No comments: